Chewy, lemon and delicious

For my mums birthday, we got her a cookbook that looked vintagey and fun. So much so that my sister and I bought our own copies as well. Mum started cooking recipes from it, and to our relief, they worked.

Its taken me a while (we bought this in March!) but I finally made the chewy lemon squares that both my mum and sister had already made. I even got lucky and had two fresh lemons from my sisters tree to use.

They worked out perfectly, and cut into 16 squares, 15 of them were wrapped up and frozen to take to work for afternoon teas.

Its worked perfectly. I can't recommend this one enough (and being lemon, I don't have to share with hubby!).

Tangy Lemon Squares (from The Australian Women's Weekly 'Baking Day' pg 115)

Ingredients

  • 125g butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup (40g) icing sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups (185g) plain flour
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup (220g) caster sugar
  • 2 teaspoons finely grated lemon rind
  • 1/2 cup (125ml) lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons icing sugar, extra

Method

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees. Grease a 23cm square pan, line with baking paper that extends about 5cm past the edges.

Beat butter and icing sugar together in a small bowl with an electric mixer until smooth. Stir in 1 cup of the flour. Press the mixture evenly into the base of the pan.

Bake for about 15 minutes or until browned lightly.

Meanwhile, place eggs, caster sugar, remaining flour, rind and juice in the bowl. Whisk until combined. Pour the mixture of the hot base.

Bake for a further 20 minutes or until firm. Cool in pan before cutting. If you want, you can dust with the extra icing sugar. I didn't, because I didn't think it needed it.

 

 

One thought on “Chewy, lemon and delicious

  1. Pingback: Because cookies. | cookieskitchenadventures

Leave a Reply

